Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a general belief that the advertising industry uses some unethical and objectionable methods to promote their products. This essay falls in inclination with this view. In my opinion, most advertisements either make false claims or are highly misleading. To begin with, admen try every trick in the book to enhance sales of their products. With the objective of grabbing more attention, marketers often hire popular celebrities to endorse their products. When a popular actor or a successful sportsperson endorses a product, people assume that it is of a higher quality and can be relied upon. For example, actors often promote beauty soaps, shampoos and creams. Gullible people buy those products hoping that if they use them, they will begin to look like their idol. Such ads make false claims with the sole objective of increasing the sale of the product. Some companies market their products as something that only the rich can afford. The iPhone, for example, is ridiculously pricey and some cheaper phones have the same features and specifications. Yet, Apple’s marketing campaigns have made the iPhone a status symbol. In addition, television commercials and promotions targeting children are even more dangerous. For example, the fast-food chains MacDonald’s and Burger King give away free toys or drinks to attract children. Surveys have proved that their products are unhealthy and their regular consumption leads to health problems including obesity among children. Yet, these foods are marketed as healthy and nutritious. Moreover, a recent revelation made by a travel and food blogger named Alyene stated that many foods items which are always advertised as ‘vegetarian’ such as Lays potato chips and gummy candies are made of pig fat, pig feet, horse hooves and cow lips. This is a fraud with people like the Muslims and Jews and all the other people who claim to be vegetarians or vegans. In conclusion, I would like to say that although advertising plays a key part in marketing products, false and misinforming advertisements should be regulated or banned.