In some countries, some criminal trials are shown on the television, and the general public can watch them. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Criminal court hearings are televised in some countries, being accessible to ordinary citizens. Such programmes run the risk of glorifying criminals as the media seeks to entertain the viewers, and not just present the facts, encouraging criminal behaviour. As such, airing trials has the potential to bring more benefits than drawbacks to society so long as there are strict guidelines, ensuring the educative aspect is highlighted, protecting the society from possible negative consequences. Admittedly, being open to the public, criminal trials may deter crime since they increase social awareness of inevitable consequences that any illegal action brings. As such, not only can this demonstrate the deep regret experienced,but they also display all stages of the meticulous investigation process, which is likely to discourage disobedience of the law. Hence, if being aware of how effectively the justice system works, potential offenders will think twice before choosing a criminal path, realizing that their future, and, at times, even life are at stake. On average, the crime rate is often reported to be lower in those countries that air criminal trials. One danger of allowing trials to be televised is that they may create celebrities out of criminals thus encouraging those who seek fame for violence. This is because those programs, seemingly unreal, may be sometimes considered as nothing more but another soap opera which undermines the seriousness of looming punishments, while the perspective of fame appears more appealing. Yet another risk of aired court hearings is the increased public awareness of illegal schemes, previously only known to criminals. A prime example is Chikatilo, a Russian serial maniac, whose trial was widely covered in media, stimulating the imagination of potential criminals, which eventually resulted in numerous homicides following similar scenarios. In conclusion, the advantages of broadcast trials outweigh potential disadvantages as long as they present the horror of such situations which is realized by viewers, not romanticising such cases or making them a source of entertainment.