Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an increasing number of workers and students working or studying from home due to the affordability and accessibility brought by modern technology nowadays.In my personal view, I believe a larger number of merits can be seen with a handful of drawbacks. To begin with, the most telling benefit lies in the fact that a great deal of time and energy can be saved.With advanced technologies such as laptops, pads and mobile phones,people are able to finish work and take courses at home without travelling to particular places, which not only leave hours for other important things, but we also need not get tired of traffic jam. Huge convenience can be shared by everyone, especially in this pandemic time. Furthermore, families have more opportunities to stay together, which definitely seems to be a positive trend in the world with so many workaholics. Parents can also interact with their children in terms of academic performance and mental development. Last, but not least, companies are able to cut expenditures on electricity bills, office furniture. Notwithstanding the aforementioned arguments, working or studying distantly creates some drawbacks to some degree. For example, people tend to find it harder to communicate with their colleagues, the same difficulty happens to teachers, struggling to monitor their students. To be specific, some details about work need to be negotiated face to face; some students lacking self-discipline may fail to finish homework in time and get addicted to computer games, just to give two examples. In a nutshell, the negatives in their profession and schooling outweigh the advantages to an extreme level, and distant work and study will develop in a more constructive way with technological upgradings.