without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Sentencing people with capital punishment can make the community feel more protected. As a result of this regulation, crime rates can be lower in the future. But I don't think the death penalty should be practised because there is a flip side to it. Firstly, maintaining a safe and secure environment is a must for a healthy society. In order to keep it's people safe, the government should be considerate about the crimes being committed on its territory. Secondly, the crimes of violence should be punished according to their weight in the law to maintain order because we need to get ahead of violence. Finally, the sentence should be exemplary to the others. However, there is always a chance the authorities may get the situation wrong and that is the most important aspect of it all. In fact, that is the only angle we need to go over again and again. On the other hand, sentencing someone with the death penalty can result in various unwanted events such as a wrong accusation. Sometimes it's the accuser's word against the accused's. In this situation, the court will decide a verdict and that can result in favouring either side. What if the jury made the wrong decision and send someone who doesn't deserve to die to the other side? I don't think any human-constructed system can carry weight this heavy. It is better to be handled any other way than sentencing someone with death. In conclusion,regulations about law and order should be brought into the expert's hands. I believe that the act of violence should be punished heavily but not with the death penalty. Wrong judgement can build a situation that no conscience can clear in a lifetime.