Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more beneficial both environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Some individuals prefer to consume locally-produced foods instead of imported ones because of environmental and economic concern. In my opinion, some diets are required to bring from overseas as they are healthy to have. On the one hand, various imported foodstuff gives significant health benefits. Many overseas fruits, vegetables and processed meals are filled with vitamins and good additives, which are very much necessary for humans to supply nutritions in the body and maintain fitness. Moreover, some of these items can not be cultivated locally because of the unavailability of a suitable atmosphere and soil. Thus, purchasing such stuff from abroad can supply essential nourishments to the residents. For instance, avocado, which is a nutrient-dense fruit especially filled with a good fatty acid, not farmed in Bangladesh but people of this country buy it from overseas. In contrast, the shipment of food promotes environmental pollution and the expense of the locals. Usually, commodities are transported from abroad by the air, water and road; as a result, more fuels are burned and contaminated the atmosphere. Furthermore, consuming foreign foods are costly as the importers have to pay taxes and tariffs in the borders; these formalities raise the price of every single imported item. For example, Bangladeshi inhabitants have to pay more than double for foreign strawberry in the local market than to the locally produced one. However, diet shipments are pursued with the demands of the products; therefore, there is less chance of frequent freights and unnecessary intaken by the customers. In conclusion, getting foodstuff from outside of the country is advantageous or not is a controversial issue. Some people think that this trend drives climate pollution and expenditure. Nevertheless, I believe, it is worthwhile to eat these considering the essential compounds they contain.