Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products.What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

It is true that consumers tend to buy products from large corporations due to their successful marketing and promotion. Some people harbour a belief that the phenomenon may lead to some problems with local products. A discussion of this issue and possible solutions will be highlighted in the write-up. Initially, the two vital problems which may be caused by the situation were the survival of local shops and the reduction of consumers' choices. First of all, customers are prone to pay more attention to famous brands instead of local ones. Therefore, it is hard for local retailers to gain public recognition and even result in business failures. Secondly, individuals lose their opportunities to learn new products from various sources. Gradually, the market share is mostly seized by big companies which can be harmful to crowds. In order to alleviate the situation, the government should implement some policies to assist local retailers and they have to improve their marketing strategies as well. For example, the executive should involve some resources to help those retailers to promote their goods and arouse the public interest. At the other end of the spectrum, sellers should try to catch people's eyes and make good use of all the possible exposure. For instance, they can upload videos on social media to introduce their merchandise. To sum up, despite the fact that the trend of consuming items from large companies is inevitable, the challenges that local shops encounter can not be ignored. Assistance from the authorities is required and local retailers should work together to resolve such an obstacle addressed, otherwise, the variety of the market will be decreased.