Some people say that arts subject such as painting, or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many students in high school must attend art classes apart from academic subjects such as math and physics. While many people argue that such action is necessary, I prompt that art should not be a compulsory course in schools. On the one hand, an art course is essential not only it could foster a sense of beauty but maintain a healthy mind for adolescents. The learning process of painting and drawing in high school may increase the students’ understanding of art, which rends a higher rate of enjoyment in life. According to existed research, people who enjoy art have a more positive attitude towards difficulties since they are more likely to find beauty in their lives. Thus, there is a good reason to set up compulsory art courses for high school students for the sake of their health. On the other hand, students who have no interest in art could feel upset when they are forced to take the course. Unlike other subjects requiring literacy skills or logical thoughts, art is more relating to gifts born with. Besides, despite the universal principles of favouring arts, it is relatively unnecessary and unlikely to teach every student how to draw properly. The ability in the painting could hardly increase through the compulsory course but many amounts of practice, which leads to art course rather a troche to students who are not good at drawing. In conclusion, although art plays a critical role in students’ development, I would not agree to make it a compulsory course in the view of multiple growths of students.