In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

Over the decades, the traditional family structure has experienced significant changes. This essay will take a look at modern families as well as consider whether these transformations are beneficial or harmful. Taking look into the past, in many countries several generations of one family used to live all together under one roof. That has changed dramatically. Nowadays, young people tend to move to other cities or regions for getting an education or pursuing career growth. They make nuclear families, which do not always have children. Moreover, the roles of the family members transformed as well. Historically, men provide a family with all the necessary, and women play the role of housewife and mother. Nowadays, women could also be breadwinner equally to men. In addition, according to statistics, the percentage of men taking parental leave increases every year. In comparison, in the middle of the last century number of the man taking care of children of a young age was considerably small. As with all shifts in social structure, these have advantages and drawbacks. The older generation, that in the past supposed to help take care of children, now live separately. Consequently, they might feel isolated and do not get enough help and attention from their family members. For that reason, social services and volunteers ensure elderly people with the necessary care. Nevertheless, the transformation of the women's role provides more freedom and career prospects, and financial independence. To conclude, I would argue that the movement that takes place in family structure and the roles of its members is mainly positive due to the modern lifestyle.