The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed by some that the fundamental purpose of science is to improve the living quality of humans. However, I hold a completely opposite view to such an idea. It is essential to define the scope of science to emphasise the point that explains why science needs to develop independently. Firstly, science comes into being out of our need to answer questions as we get to know more about nature. Science is indeed a model that we use to approximate the real world. Secondly, most people become scientists to explore the boundary of the existing knowledge and see if they can push the frontier further. Finally but not least, science has a variety of secondary areas, which combined together form a complicated labyrinth that no one can tell which road leads to where. The demand of asking scientific research to be based on daily necessities is no doubt a limitation on it and causes more negative impact. It should be acknowledged that science does promote our living quality. There are several things people can do to better utilize the power of science. People should investigate the transformation from scientific research into technology. Such transformation requires scientists to better sell their results to the public, the companies and the government. Moreover, people should call for the introduction of scientific methods to practical problems such as engineering, health care and daily commutes. In conclusion, despite the fact that humans will benefit from science development, we should respect the true purpose of science and let it thrive without disruption.