Some schools are very strict about their school uniforms and the appearance of their pupil, while other schools have a very relaxed dress code. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children of having a school uniform?

It is often argued that educational institutes should be made compulsory for students to wear proper dress code whereas some other schools do not imply any rules and regulations on pupils on what to wear. This essay will discuss both the merits and drawbacks of uniform. On the one side, the first and foremost reason to have a uniform is it builds the spirit and gives a sense of pride. In other words, there will be unity among students and they will proud to be a part of the institute. Also, a uniform is an indicator of what school you belong to and parents do not have to look for different clothes for each day. Secondly, regular dress code breaks the class barriers. In short, all children are considered equal no matter what background they have. Due to this, children can be friends with anyone. For example, a survey conducted National school organization founds that 70% of parents want to have a dress code for their children so that they do not have to buy the other clothes and finds it convenient. However, some believe that regular dress-code for the children can be monotonous and children can't express themselves. Moreover, children can be saved from bullying from other school students. For instance, in Asian countries, it is very common that children of public school are being pressured from other top school children and this builds stress and sometimes are being traumatized. And this is because of the uniform they wear. Therefore, school uniform can be the reason for students for being reserved and not active in society. To conclude, although school uniform can be advantageous for cutting down the barriers and creating unity among students there is some demerit like pupils being bullying which is detrimental to student mental health.