Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an ongoing interest in national allocations for transportation systems. Many argue that the government should allocate more funds to railways rather than roads. I strongly support this notion, and I will delineate my reasons, supported with relevant examples. To begin, one compelling reason why I believe the state should invest more funds in railway construction than roads is that railway use promotes environmental sustainability. That is, the operation of subways requires less energy, leading to reduced greenhouse gas emissions compared to road vehicles. It is, therefore, environmentally friendly and counters the uprising threatening environmental issue of global warming. For example, a recent study in Japan showed a reduced carbon footprint. This is due to the prevalent use of the Shinkansen, a high-speed energy-efficient alternative to cars. Furthermore, although building roads can be less expensive, it is essential to spend more money on the construction and maintenance of railways to significantly alleviate road congestion, especially in urban areas. This high influx of people into the big cities leads to a surge in traffic jams. It is gradually reaching a point of saturation. To reduce this, trains are often used by many as they commute millions of people at once, and minimize the need for road transport. For instance, recent research conducted in London indicates that, despite a rise in immigrants over the past two years, traffic remains well-controlled. This is because it has efficient subway systems which reduces the need for cars. In conclusion, with the rise in the debate about the best means of transport in society, most residents opine that the government should spend more on railways. I support this because they are determinants of environmental sustainability and will help curb the problem of traffic congestion.