Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Animal experimentation can be used to design new medications. Some people believe that carrying out investigations on animals is the best approach, while others think that it only adds to animals’ suffering. This essay agrees that doing experiments on animals is beneficial in reducing risks in terms of human health. On the one hand, there is no alternative to testing drugs on animals. Experimenting with drugs on animals such as rats and mice can protect human beings from the adverse effects of novel drugs. For example, pharmaceutical companies have documented many drug-related problems when they experimented with new drugs on human subjects. As a result, this has pushed many laboratories to try brand-new medicines on animals to minimize potential damage to volunteers. On the other hand, there are numerous ethical arguments on why animals should not be exploited by scientists because they have no right to subject animals to this kind of trauma. Putting helpless creatures that are not able to talk and express themselves through stressful conditions constitutes a major breach of animals’ rights. Moreover, several companies might abuse these animals. For instance, a drug firm was using keeping dogs and cats in dirty cages and gave them illnesses to be used as test subjects for a newly-discovered medication. Accordingly, many people are against this cruel practice, as they believe that the benefits for humans should not be at the suffering of these poor creatures. To conclude, despite the violations that may happen to animals during drug testing procedures, human safety should be considered as a priority.