Some think that ambition is a good quality. Is it important to be ambitious? Is it a positive or negative characteristic?

It is argued that ambition is a crucial human trait that provides us many advantages. Personally, I agree that ambition is a positive characteristic; however, it can be a problem when we are too ambitious in life. On the one hand, I agree that ambition is an exceptional quality of human beings. An ambitious individual can have great motivation and clear purposes in life, making them lifelong learners who always strive for personal development and meaningful innovation for society. Airplanes, for example, are a disrupting invention of ambitious minds; and they have created such a powerful impact on our lives, allowing us to travel around the world. In contrast, without ambition, we may fall into a comfort trap, gradually losing the meanings and joys in life since we are deprived of challenges to strive for. As a result, we can not maintain our healthy habits or even build some unhealthy ones because we are playing an easy game, and we just live day by day without making any positive influence on society. On the other hand, being too obsessed with success and accomplishments may bring us some disadvantages. Firstly, we can suffer from chronical stress, which leads to some mental and physical health. For instance, it is scientifically proved that stress is associated with sleep loss, emotional eating, diabetes, etc. Secondly, constantly pursuing our goals can make us overshadowed present happiness, such as our current job, our beloved family, our supportive friends, etc. Consequently, we may never truly know how to embrace and treasure simple joy in life. In conclusion, ambition is a great characteristic that benefits us in many ways; however, proper goals and contentment are also crucial elements that ensure us to have a balanced and enjoyable life.