Teenage offenders should be treated in the same way as adult criminals. Do you agree?

The teenage years can be a wonderful yet difficult time in the lives of young people. Those teenagers who break the law during their teenage years need to be treated differently due to their age. This essay will argue for special treatment of teenage offenders. Some teenagers act impulsively and commit offences which they later regret. The most important consideration is that teenagers are young people with their entire lives before them. Therefore, they need to be treated differently to adult offenders, who may have been criminals for some time. Crimes committed by teenagers may not have been intentional and may have resulted from negative influences, such as poor parenting, drugs and alcohol or even from watching violent video games. Additionally, young people may be under enormous pressure to do well at school. As a result, many teenagers are stressed and may commit crimes without thinking fully about their actions or the consequences. Finally, any harsh punishment such as sending teenage criminals to jail, could damage their future opportunities. For example, if they are unable to find work once they have left jail, they may return to a life of crime to survive. Therefore, we should give them the chance to understand the effects of their wrong behaviour by treating them with lesser punishment such as community service or rehabilitation classes to learn more about right and wrong behaviour. In conclusion, I strongly believe that we should treat teenage offenders differently from adult criminals. By doing this we can ensure that they do not remain criminals for life.