Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent days, some academicians believe that it is better to introduce a foreign language in elementary school than in secondary school. In my opinion, I agree with this idea and I believe that this brings more merits than drawbacks. One of the major benefits of introducing a new language early on is that it helps the child gain higher levels of proficiency in it. Children who are approximately between five and nine years have the capacity to remember things twice as fast and effectively as people from other age groups. Another reason is that children are much more enthusiastic about exploring and learning new things at a young age. Therefore, it is easier for children at a younger age to acquire language. On the other hand, a potential disadvantage of learning multiple languages in primary school is that the child may confuse the foreign dialect and their native tongue. Learning too much about another language while having not yet learned enough about their mother-tongue one can make kids forget partly or use their native sound improperly. For example, we sometimes see that children born and brought up outside India have difficulty in conversing with their family in their mother tongue. before. Consequently, they can study neither the mother tongue nor the foreign one thoroughly. Moreover, students need to learn basic subjects such as Science, mathematics and moral which are essential for them to survive in the future, especially at the beginning of their academic career. However, in the long run, children would get used to studying many languages at the same time and they would organize their time properly to fit in their schedule which includes learning languages. To sum up, although there are some confusion and difficulties in the learning languages process, the advantages of learning a second language at primary schools outweigh its harmful effects. Young children’s innate should be harnessed as soon as possible to study a foreign language.