Some people think that the government is responsible for crime prevention. Others think that it is individuals responsibility to protect themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The crime rate has been rising at a faster rate. Yet is not clear who is more responsible for preventing crime whether the government should take responsibility or the society is itself accountable for stopping the offence. I believe that the government will be more chargeable for alleviating crimes. To begin with, governing bodies are the most powerful authorities and thus, more responsible for protecting their citizens. If the government implements strict policies against murderers, thieves and robbers then perhaps it would reduce the number and intensity of the crimes. To take an example, most people commit crimes because they think the punishments are not as harsh as they need to be. Therefore, executing punishments like lifetime imprisonment and high charges for breaking rules would be an effective measure in reducing crime levels. Overall, these strategies cannot be developed by society on its own thus, hold authorities more responsibly. Although there are numerous measures from the government side to protect society, individuals need to protect themselves and run some safety measures for their own safety. Firstly, they protect themselves by avoiding more populated areas especially if they are wearing gold items and carrying expensive items. Secondly, it is evident that most crime occurs after dawn. So, people have to stop wandering alone in such dark areas. As it could reduce the possibility of being robbed. Moreover, locking doors and windows at night is an additional protective measure. Thus, making small efforts from the personal level not only brings prosperity to the nation but also aids betterment of the society against crimes. To conclude, I believe that governing bodies can reduce the levels of such crimes by implementing stricter policies such as putting criminals behind bars while society also needs to follow some protective measures to stop such happenings.