Some cities have spent a large amount of money on bicycles. Why has this happened? Do you think it is the best way to solve traffic problems?

In recent years, a huge number of urban centres have allocated a large proportion of the national budget to encourage the use of bicycles in order to address traffic issues. However, I firmly assert that other measures should be taken to solve this problem. This essay will elucidate the reason behind the bicycle project and provide other possible solutions. To begin,the main factor which causes policymakers to initiate bicycle projects is that it ensures the reduction of traffic congestion. For instance, Amsterdam city council stimulated urban dwellers to use bicycles in order to reach their daily destinations by constructing roads for bikers, enabling them to travel safer as a result of which the number of cars decreased drastically. Moreover, this played a crucial role in reducing CO2 emissions which, in turn, increased the quality of the air. Additionally, using a bicycle has undeniable health benefits,promoting both physical fitness and mental well-being. All these benefits prove that investing in bicycles might be an effective way to tackle traffic issues. However, it is important to recognize that the bicycle project cannot address the traffic problem solely. Improving the public transport system which is reinforced by especially with modern buses and trains allows city dwellers to avoid prolonged traffic jams. For example, Tokyo city has the most convenient underground system, enabling urban dwellers not only to commute without any delays but also to reduce the number of cars. Finally, unlike bicycles which require sunny days public transportation is not dependent on weather conditions, proving that investing in public transportation is the most efficient remedy for traffic problems. To sum up, it is true that implementing bicycle projects can be beneficial to solving traffic problems to some extent. However, I firmly assert that improving public transport plays a key role in addressing the traffic issues. Therefore, it is recommended that policymakers should combine both methods to cope with this issue.