Most people prefer shopping in supermarkets nowadays. How does this affect the local shops? What are the positive and negative impacts of this development?

The world is continuously evolving with new infrastructure. With the advent of supermarkets, hypermarkets, and complexes, the way people shop has changed. They have basically sidelined the local markets and small shops. I opine that this is a positive development and this essay will reflect upon a few reasons for the same. There are various reasons for the popularity of supermarkets. These offer a lot of convenience to the public with various features ranging from multiple payment options to home deliveries. Secondly, they offer quality produce, whether it is a packaged item or fresh produce. Quantity is another strong factor and supermarkets offer generous quantities with more affordable and bargain prices. The produce available in supermarkets is mostly available at fixed prices, resulting in less frequent changes and is less prone to market rate fluctuations. A lot of products generally available are branded, resulting in a more assured and promised buying experience. These markets are more plush and upmarket, resulting in a better and ambient shopping experience as opposed to the local shops. They offer a plethora of facilities such as hygienic washrooms, televisions, food counters, helpers, trolleys, air conditioning to name a few. Lastly, there is the fact that these places stock everything neatly and display them in an organised manner. This systematic display allows the buyers to purchase in bulk at a cheaper price, consequently reflecting in the form of better spending habits in people. To sum it up, I think these factors have a positive impact on people’s lives and hence, this phenomenon of shopping in supermarkets and avoiding the local shops is a positive one.