In many cities, the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the advantages of video surveillance outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, it's commonplace that CCTV cameras are installed on each corner of the streets to reduce the crime rate, but many argue that it's against the freedom of humanity. I believe that the merits of video cameras in metropolis outweigh the drawbacks. There are three main reasons why the installation of CCTV cameras in public places might not be a popular idea among people. Firstly, with the existence of video cameras all over the city, people's privacy could be invaded, as CCTV cameras could be considered intrusive elements monitoring us throughout the day. Secondly, the activities of police members tend to be reduced, which is due to the state's trust in these camera types. Without police members patrolling the streets, the crime rate can be increased. Lastly, the data saved in the memory of these devices might be stolen by hackers. The stolen information would be an extreme threat to citizens in order to act against them. Despite the negatives mentioned above, I believe monitoring the public areas is a positive measure. By using CCTV cameras, the security of the city would be guaranteed, as they can deter crime. To be exact, the cameras can prevent petty criminals, such as shoplifters, pickpockets, and traffic offenders, from committing offenses because they will not perform in places where they know that they are being watched. In addition, the videos could be considered as evidence in order to catch the suspects and also prosecute the criminals. Therefore, in my view, cameras offer valuable support to police officers to make the city safer for dwellers. In conclusion, it seems to me that we gain more than we lose from the security that the installation of CCTV cameras brings to our city.