Some people believe that the internet will replace traditional books in the future. Do you believe this would be a positive or a negative development?

Reading online is becoming incredibly popular nowadays. Some people believe that online reading will be a replacement for the traditional book in the future. This essay will discuss why printed books can not be completely replaced by digital books. In my opinion, it would be negative if traditional books are replaced by online reading as both of them are an important part of our life. A growing number of people prefer to read on the internet because online reading is more convenient and cheaper. Readers can access to an enormous number of books just by using their mobile devices. They do not need to have much space at home to store their books as e-books can be stored in their mobile devices. Furthermore, reading online is always much cheaper than purchasing books and sometimes it is likely to find some free online reading applications. For example, it is reported that digital books became a big hit after it sprang up and started taking over the sale of hardcover books. As a result, people are inclined to read online for their convenience and lower prices. On the other hand, although digital books are convenient to read and keep, printed books are still an important part of our life and could make up for the disadvantages of digital books. Digital books are prone to get corrupted, deleted and pirated or just get lost anytime. Also, batteries and power are required when reading an e-book. However, printed books do not have these problems. Even when there is no power, our books will be safe in our hands. In addition, printed books are more tangible. For instance, a recent survey reveals that many readers think that it is a pleasure to hold the book and get the feel of the world about to explore. Therefore, traditional books have their own benefits and should remain in the future. In conclusion, more and more people tend to get the habit of reading online. Some people have reasons to believe that people will no longer read printed books in the future. This essay discussed why printed books cannot totally be replaced by online reading. In my view, both of them can play an important role in our life.