Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Products made of plastic are degrading the environment. The use of plastic has catastrophic effects on the environment as it pollutes the atmosphere, water bodies and land, and thus, authorities can solve this issue by imposing a permanent ban on the production of single- use plastic and people should use other available options. Over-usage of plastic products is causing air, water and soil pollution. This is because when plastic is used, it is either thrown in the water and on land or is burnt, which causes a drastic reduction in the quality of natural resources because plastic contains harmful materials which are non-recyclable. For instance, in research done in 2021, it was found that almost fifty per cent depletion of natural resources had happened due to single- use plastic. To solve this predicament, governments should ban the manufacturing of single- use plastic and people should use more products which do not harm nature. In other words, authorities should stop the root cause of the problem which is the production of plastic by imposing heavy penalties on manufacturers. Furthermore, individuals should use other materials for their daily needs such as replacing poly bags with cloth bags. For example, Japanese government stopped using plastic in 2010 and their citizens also supported the authorities, and the result of this combined step has their air, water and land quality improved by twenty per cent in just five years. In conclusion, plastic products are harmful to the environment because they result in the depletion of natural resources such as air, water and soil. Therefore, governments should impose a permanent ban on production and people should use other alternatives