Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I contradict with the idea of comparing literature teaching as a time-wasting action. From my perspective, learning about poems and stories can bring more merits than demerits to young generations. The explanation for this is that literature can accompany young people in their search for the truth, the good and the beautiful for the whole life. To begin with, stories in literature have content about tragic scenarios in life which are optimistically resolved by the authors at the resolutions. In these stories, the truth always comes out, the good wins over the evil, and main characters can receive good karma. These lessons teach students to have beliefs in justice and understand that life is more than having money. Besides provoking the truth and the good, literature also have the power to bring out the beauty in the human’s soul and lead to humanitarian responses. For example, in many novels and poems, the authors wrote about miserable lives where poor people always try their best to fight for freedom and search for a meaningful life. In the end, they may have happy-endings or not; either way, these stories can still tackle the fundamental philosophical and psychological questions in the young. The stories trigger empathy and make students think with their heart. This intricate level of mindset which is barely learned through science and sports because these subjects are mainly built to train work skills to earn money, not for nurturing the soul. In conclusion, it is crucial to state that lessons from literature are food for thoughts, and it is a big mistake if people believe that learning literature is time-consuming. Before becoming a rich man, all teenagers have to learn how to become a man, and these lessons are from moral stories from literature.