Many people in society believe that having fixed punishments for all crimes is more efficient way of dealing with criminals in the justice system. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having fixed punishment system?

Over the past few decades, there had been a significant increase in the crime rate. while some people consider that rigid punishment should be followed for any type of violation. This essay will discuss both positives and negatives associated with the topic. To commence with there are many advantages of fixed punishment for different types of crime. One of the important benefits is it is easier as well as less time-consuming. This is primarily because judges can straightway take the actual with legal procedures without any in-depth thinking. Moreover,there would be less discrimination towards the people violating.In India, it takes ages to punish a person as a procedure to follow the law is slow. Consequently,it would reduce the crime rate considerably. Thus it is precise if punishments are rigid it has many benefits. However,it is irrefutable that fixed punishment also has some drawbacks. The negative effects are such penalty would not consider the circumstance of committing the crime. This is owing to the fact if people are committing a crime without any negative intension or not intentionally such crime should be judged in a less stringent way rather than rigid punishment. For example,a lady commits a crime of stealing food from a restaurant as she was starving for many days, the judges should consider such a situation and act accordingly. As a result,innocent people might also be sentenced without any evidence. Thus it's imminent that permanent penalty does have some negative impact on criminals. In conclusion, Although fixed punishments are time-consuming for the judges and deplete the criminals, it does have some drawback of not considering the actual cause of committing the crime as some crime are never done intentionally.