Some people think that professional athletes make good role models for young people, while others believe they don’t. Discuss both these points of view and give your own opinion.

Professional sportsmen are considered to be role models by many youths. While some people think that this is not the case, in my perspective, athletes are looked up to by many children and young adults and try to become like them. This essay will discuss both opinions before coming to a reasoned conclusion. On the one hand, professional sports players can encourage children and teenagers to become better. They can advise them against many bad habits such as eating excessive junk food and lack of exercise and push them to do good. Moreover, they can participate in awareness campaigns against addiction and drug abuse. For example, in Egypt, Mo Salah, who is a well-known international football player, partook in an anti-drug abuse commercial, advising young people who suffer from substance abuse to take action. As a consequence, several addicts had responded, and therefore, went to rehab facilities and sought treatment. On the other hand, many misconducts committed by athletes are highlighted in the media. This is because actions such as taking activity enhancing drugs, being violent with other teammates and inappropriate behaviour outside the field can set a bad example to numerous children. Thus, many individuals feel that high-profile sports figures may not always be good examples to be followed. For instance, several players were accused of rape and sexual misconduct following the latest me-too movement. As a result, many people felt that these public figures should not influence their children. In conclusion, I strongly believe that sports personalities can still influence young people ’s behaviour in a good way. Although many people believe that athletic personalities may behave improperly, others can set a decent example for many youngsters and youths.