Discuss the causes and some effects of widespread drug use by young people in modern day society. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are some reasons that explain an increase in youth drug abuse, it is possible to cite the coolness young people feel when using prohibited drugs and political issues related to control of traffic. As consequence, many of these young spoil their future. The ways to face this problem can reside in education and a more rigid drug control by the government. In this essay I will present two ideas to combat this problem. As mentioned above, one common reason for youngsters to start using drugs is the feeling of transgression. They feel that consuming drugs, especially those forbidden by adults and by law, is a way to show themselves more bold and strong. To avoid this it is important to conscientize them. Education is a special tool, to achieve this goal. We need to approach this issue in such a way that children, teenagers and young adults feel comfortable to take part in conversations and share ideas about the subject. I know some families where parents talk freely with their children about this to construct a confident relationship with no tabus or limits. Schools have more barriers to implement such an open conversation but I believe this is a great way to face this trend. Another cause of drug abuse in youth comes from outside, it is easy to get access to different drugs. Many people believe that drug dealers are the problem, but the real issue is the source. Great producers and distributors around the world are safe while small sellers are arrested and condemned. Governments must be more rigid to detect the illegal income of these drugs. If the source is compromised, the small points of distribution will no more exist and local drug dealers, who in many situations are poor people who do not represent a danger to our society, will no more exist. To summarize we need to invest in conscientization through education, and a rigid control to avoid drug incomes into our country. The presence of drugs in young people's lives is a cause of disrupted families, erased futures and precocious death. Not only official action must be taken but we as a society must look to this issue with no prejudice.