Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an argument regarding the monetary allocations made by the state, where there are those who believe that funds should be budgeted to search for life outside Earth. However, opponents think that there are more important matters on earth that need attention. This essay will discuss both perspectives and why I think the government needs to priotize societal issues in its budget. Investing in scientific research regarding other planets has two main advantages. The biggest merit is that it fosters national pride as it speaks a lot about the technological advancement of a country. For example, the citizens of the USA have taken a lot of pride in the fact that they were the first to walk on the moon. Another benefit is that it increases man's knowledge. This allows people to understand more about the things outside the earth. Notwithstanding, there are different problems that the world is facing that need urgent funding. The most significant one is hunger. Due to an increased rate of poverty, there are people who are malnourished which has resulted in the death of children that can be useful citizens in the future. To illustrate, in many nations, the gap between the rich and the poor is large, hence, there are residents whose GDP constantly drops. Another pressing problem is child labour, as there are not a lot of resources present to sue companies such as makeup and clothing industries who use children to get cheap labour. In conclusion, I think that both schools of thought have their merits. Nevertheless, I believe that concerns like world hunger and child labour need more monetary attention over the outside space scientific research even though it can bring national pride or increase man's knowledge. Furthermore, in my opinion, humans should be contented with our current earth and strive to make it a better place.