Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people put a heavy emphasis on the present moment, thus they do not value learning from the past. I strongly disagree with this view. I think many lessons can be learnt by looking back to the past. The past that is said here, I believe, could be someone else's past or our own past. Someone else's past could be known through other people's stories or through historical books. People can learn many things by understanding what happened in other people's past. They might not be in our memories, but they were real events. Therefore, we can analyse what causes them to happen. Then, if they were mistakes made by people in the past, we have the knowledge to avoid them happening again in the present. Take the World Wars for example. Understanding the root causes and the horrific effects of World War I and II could help us become more aware of ways to prevent another war, even though we did not part of that event. Furthermore, the past was not always bad. There were also some successful and happy stories. We can make an achievement in the past and take lessons from it. For instance, we can be very resilient and industrious, hence we succeeded in our businesses. In the present moment, we can look back for a while and grasp some knowledge of the good practices we did in the past. This is a good way to remind us to keep doing the good things and also a way to prepare us planning for a better future. To conclude, the past were real events that happened through someone's actions or through or own choices. In order to live a better and meaningful life in the present and the future, people should learn to look back to the past and take lessons from there.