One of the major problems that today’s government faces is creating enough satisfactory housing for their increasing populations whilst still trying to protect the environment. How can this be achieved? Discuss and give your opinion.

It is difficult for the government that reach a balance between construction and the ecosystem. While the government in some countries implemented some relevant policies, such as increasing housing prices to limit the rich buy multiple houses, this would hamper the right of the poor to have safe housing. In my opinion, there are some potential methods which might resolve this issue, including inventing sustainable materials, constructing higher buildings, and raising public awareness. First, building a sustainable house is quite essential, and plays a crucial role in environmental preservation. To implement this idea, for example, authorities can introduce a regulation which encourages builders to invent eco-friendly materials in which they construct, such as renewable wood, fibre or steel. Apart from this, residents can install some machines producing renewable energy, for instance, solar panels, rainwater harvesting systems or wind turbines, thereby not only reducing carbon dioxide emissions but also cutting down on the expense of electricity. Such effects can further minimize the environmental damage. Second, due to urbanization, more and more houses were built in cities, which caused higher-density housing, thereby decreasing natural habitats and agricultural land. Therefore, to deal with these problems, reformers can introduce sorts of policies which encourage builders to construct higher buildings, like skyscrapers or apartments. Also, authorities can combine residential places with commercial spaces, which declines long commutes and, therefore, drops air pollution and traffic congestion. Finally, the government should raise public awareness about the importance of sustainable development. Through educational systems, educators need to lecture on the information on environmental costs of traditional housing. In addition, authorities can support or provide funds to help citizens start green initiatives. In conclusion, although rising housing prices sounds like a good measure to achieve the balance between urbanization and the environment, it is better that authorities introduce a variety of policy, which can benefit both, ranging from construction to education.