Many people think it is very important to protect the environment but they make no effort to do it themselves. Why do you think this is the case? What actions should individuals take to protect the environment?

It is clear that the environmental protection has been considered as crucial step by most of the people, but they fail to show some actions in doing so. This essay will discuss some of the factors resulting in such behaviour and propose the ways that people can inculcate in protecting the natural resources. One of the main reasons that most of the individuals put minimal efforts in protecting nature is they being ignorant towards such issues. This is because they feel that it cannot be done by just one person and expects the entire society to act the same. For instance, if they come across a group of people throwing trash at one corner of the road, they tend to follow to do the same rather than advising those from following such practices. One way of dealing with this issue is by becoming responsible citizens, who will follow the protocols regularly. Along with this, they should also impart the consequences that might result by not following such rules to their neighbours. Another significant factor is the increase in the usage of transportation like cars and bikes by people. The reason for this is that travelling by one’s own mode of transport is considered to be a way of leading a luxurious life. To illustrate, if there are 10 people who live in the same locality working for the same company, each one of them chooses to travel in their own car. This in turn results in umpteen gases being released to the atmosphere causing air pollution. To mitigate this cause, public transportation should be used more by individuals. Alternatively, the car-pool method must be introduced, which allows a group of people to travel together to the same destination and thus reducing pollution. In conclusion, two of the main factors causing disinterest among individuals in environmental protection are ignorance and ravishing lifestyle changes. However, these problems can be managed by being responsible and cutting down on the use of their own mode of transportation.