Internet crime is increasing rapidly as more and more people are using internet to make financial transactions. What can be done to tackle this problem?

With the advent of technology, a wide range of services and products have become accessible to users. Nevertheless, along with this, the rate of online frauds have skyrocketed in recent times. In my essay, I will emphasise on the precautions that can avoid people falling for dangerous traps. In the first place, people should restrain themselves from sharing confidential information on the internet. One of the major reasons for online financial losses is due to the breach of sensitive user data. In order words, when customers share discrete data such as credit card pin and internet banking passwords for purchase of any goods or services online, cyber attackers try to steal this information and perform unauthorised transactions. For instance, there are several fake websites which look similar to Amazon, and their primary motive is to collect card information from the users. Unfortunately, people assume it to be a genuine website and get scammed by hackers. Therefore, it is the responsibility of the shopper to be cautious while making online purchases. Secondly, good antivirus software can avoid internet crimes up to some extent. Primarily, these software's protect the user system from hacker attacks and cybercrime by filtering all the malicious links that are present in the digital platforms. In addition, they certify every website to make sure the links are legitimate and safe. For instance, Mcaffee, a popular antivirus product offers protection from spam links, phishing websites. It blocks you from accessing them and immediately reports it as spam. As a result, the user remains in safe hands with the antivirus. In conclusion, people have to be very cautious while transacting online by refraining themselves from sharing important financial information online