The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The prevalence of overweight and obesity has increased substantially during the last decades with devastating consequences to public health. Therefore, a fair amount of people suggest that physical activities should be included in the educational curriculum as it will help to combat obesity-related health problems amongst people. I strongly agree with this remedy as it helps to reduce the obesity factor. To embark on, a healthy life can be sustained with necessary steps, which involve implementing sports and exercise activities for children in schools. By giving extra importance to physical education, teachers can instil to children the habit of following a healthy living. At the moment, the average child in the Philippines does sport probably twice a week, which is not sufficient to counteract their current sedentary lifestyle. Furthermore, nowadays in many families, parents work every day so they do not have time to monitor the habits of their children. In such situations, if the child is well-informed about the value of a healthy habit, he can push himself to be fitter and active. Another point to consider is that having more sports lessons for children in school will probably result in children developing an interest in exercise which might filter through to other members of their family and have a longer-lasting effect. In other words, parents with sporty children are more likely to get involved in sports and exercises as a way of inspiring and encouraging their children. If the whole family maintained an active body by doing sports, it would naturally incorporate to children’s daily lives while growing up. This is certainly the best and lasting way to solve the problems faced by the regime in the health sectors. To summarize, changing the lifestyle of the younger generation by including physical education in schools is the easiest and most effective way to deal with an increasing population of unfit and overweight people.