A lot of people believe that the amount of violence shown on TV and in the cinema affects the actions of our young people and therefore increases the amount of violence in our society today. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? What can be done to reduce violence in our society today?

Nowadays, it is often believed that the main reason for the increasing number of unlawful actions in the community from youngsters is the harmful influence of cruel actions and various crimes, which are widely being shown on television and cinemas. I fully agree with this assertion because adolescents tend to be highly receptive and look for a role model. Therefore, one of the possible ways to reduce their violent behaviour is maintaining harmonious parent-child relationships, where parents would have an important influence on a child's behaviour and long-term choices. In recent times, the minds of young people are bombarded with numerous TV programs and films where violations and aggression are assumed to be common and appropriate issues. Youngsters at that age when it is crucial to find a role model, are often to tend to emulate characters from films or shows. As a result, this leads to the blurring of fiction and reality and allow them to commit illegitimate acts in real life. For instance, having carried out research among American students who have committed diverse offences, psychologists have revealed that over half of them demonstrated a certain interest in violence through movies and other media content. It is quite evident that one of the appropriate approaches to tackle the problem of this increasing violence in society is to guide a child's behaviour, life attitudes, and beliefs through powerful role model by parents. This is because young people who have positive relationships with important others are more likely to display high levels of positive characteristics without a desire for destructive deeds. As a result, on no account should the positive impact of the parental authoritative approach on young individuals who are less likely to be influenced by peer pressure to misbehave be ignored. These youngsters are also more likely to be influenced in positive ways, for example, they might be influenced to do well in school or sport. In conclusion, I totally accept the proposition about the negative effect of violence when it showed on television and in the cinemas on young people, which is reflected in the dramatic increase of cruelty manifestations in society recently. This would be solved by building a reliable relationship between parents and children, where parents could be a role model, thereby shaping not only children's right life attitudes but also acceptable social behaviour.