Nowadays celebrities are famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievement and this sets a bad example for the young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Media personalities play an influential role in societies. Gaining popularity based on glamour and wealth has become a contemporary trend in media, which many people believe has a negative impact on young minds. Nonetheless, I subscribe to this view due to various reasons which shall be discussed in the following essay. First and foremost, it is believed that young people are relatively easier to template and lure by massive wealth and glamorous life. Adolescence is the maturing phase of life where young individuals learn from their surroundings. In other words, it is the other's life experiences that shape their minds at this stage, which is why cherishing people's success based on their possessions can possibly lead to a detrimental outcome. For example, several social media influencers have become the highlight of media merely because of their beautification and possessions, and owing to this many children have given up on their studies as they think that if they become like them, they might be successful as well. Hence, youngsters can effortlessly be manipulated about their goals if the media continues to applaud people's physical appearance and wealth. Furthermore, deviation from goals and distraction from studies commonly stem from such criteria of popularity. Since the media acknowledgement centres around wealth and glamour instead of achievements, much of the celebrities' struggle remains uncovered. Consequently, some adolescents begin to think that becoming famous does not require hard work, and this ideology then leads them to be diverted and distracted from their usual path. For instance, not only have many young individuals ended their careers in pursuit of effortless fame, but have also given up the potential of hard work. Thus, one-sided acknowledgement of success can rob youngsters of their potential and diligence. In conclusion, when the basis of popularity is wrong, it can detrimentally lure young people's minds resulting in deviation from hard work, commitment, and vaguely defined life goals. In my perspective, due to the widespread use of media, particularly among young people can inherently modify attitudes and behaviours of its viewers, and, therefore, the criteria for awarding fame should be based on personal triumphs, not valuable possessions.