Nowadays more and more people are using cellphones and computers to communicate, so they are losing the ability to communicate with each other face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Modern technology has revolutionized people’s ways of talking to each other Some people advocate that the wide use of high-tech messaging equipment namely cell phones and computers impairs an individual's ability for face-to-face communication. As far as I am concerned, the masses are likely to lose interpersonal skills in the real world if they get addicted to this communication method. Firstly, it is obvious that technology removes opportunities for real-world socialization. People today mainly rely on search engines like Google for information acquirement, instead of real people. Consequently, there are far less interpersonal communications in daily life such as question-and-answer conversations, discussion and arguments between students and teachers, between colleagues and even between children and parents. In addition, it is also recognized that communicating via cell phones and computers makes people deficient in face-to-face contact lies in the fact that it decreases the dimension of socialization. For example, the online conversation space is very narrow since the majority of messages exchanged in social networking like Facebook, Twitter and text are only on a simple verbal level. Therefore, other non-verbal levels of interpersonal skills such as body language and social psychology are totally invalid and then ignored, hence making people incompetent and unskilled when talking with others face to face. Furthermore, there is no denying that participants’ true sincerity and atmosphere between people when holding a conversation cannot be expected from a phone call or online chatting. Admittedly, a contract between firms cannot be signed without rounds of negotiations and bargains; a couple falling in love is by no means satisfied with voice calls. In conclusion, the separation between people is undeniable in terms of the fact that it eliminates the possibility of face-to-face and emotional communication as well as failure to train the practical interpersonal skills supposing that they excessively depend using these methods is highly detrimental to real-life discourse.