Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Today many people choose to work for themselves rather than for others. I believe this is because the corporate world offers little work /life balance. However, self-employment may lead to even more workloads and stress. People doing a corporate job often find it hard to balance their work and personal lives. In a world that is changing so fast, a company is unlikely to remain relevant and competitive if its employees work only the standard 40-hour work week. For instance, to compete with the rising social media star TikTok, Facebook required its engineers to work during the weekend to develop Reels, which is Facebook's new short video feature. As a result, many people have made the leap to self-employment, hoping they can have more control over the time. However, workloads can be even heavier for the self-employed. Being the only one in the business, a self-employed person often has to wear several hats at once. They have to, for example, do the marketing and accounting, and be the customer supports. An employee, on other hand, normally has only one job role. Being one's own boss can also be very stressful. This is because a person's own business is like their own child. They put their heart and soul into it and thus may keep thinking about it every single minute. Take YouTubers for example. Many of them are constantly checking how many views, likes, and comments their videos have gotten, and become super depressed when the videos they spent hours and hours creating do not perform well. In conclusion, many people become self-employed in an effort to keep their work and personal lives in balance. Nevertheless, self-employment is not an easy path; it can mean greater workloads and stress.