Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Today, transportation systems are becoming severely inconvenient in urbanized cities. Some people suggest directing governmental funding towards railways at the expense of roads in order to alleviate adverse transportation issues. From my point of view, although it may sound reasonable, I believe that expenditure on roads is more valuable. On the one hand, people are increasingly keen on obtaining multiple private cars. This, in turn, will lead to higher congestion rates on the established road systems. Correspondingly, there must be constant developments in the road sector to contain the ever-rising number of vehicles. In a country, such as Egypt, the majority of average households own multiple cars, “The Egyptian Gazette” reported. On the other hand, people who propose funding railways as a magic pill to the ongoing transportation hassle have their valid rationale. Admittedly, the development of railways will significantly reduce the environmental burden caused by vehicle exhaust fumes. Having said that, I believe this methodology is neither viable nor applicable in developing regions. Owing to the fact that car ownership will not be discouraged by aiming governmental funding on railways solely; instead, it will keep rising. Over seventy per cent of people prefer cars over other means of transportation, in accordance to a study, done by the Egyptian Transportation Department in 2020. In conclusion, although there are clear benefits of railways, I do not believe that roads should be regarded as less important, as they are also considered of paramount importance to contain the ever-increasing numbers of vehicles. In the future, people ’s attitudes towards cars may change, but until then, any investment in railways will be futile.