Nowadays people live longer after they retire. How does this affect individuals and society? What can be done about this?

As the quality of life is constantly improving, the average age of people is increasing, which leads to the more time that people have after they retire. This change has multiple impacts on each individual and society, thus there should be plans to help elders enjoy their life after retirement. Living longer may be a positive result of a better life but it also a challenge for elders and governments. On one hand, many people get bored and unmotivated by staying at home. The longer time they live within the situation, the more problems there are. For instance, instead of having something to work on as motivations, old people may be abandoned in senior houses or may be left at home alone therefore, there can be a higher chance of depression. On the other hand, an increasing number of elders also means that there is a high demand for caregivers, which often known as challenging careers because of the commitments that people need to put on. There are many possible solutions to this issue. Firstly, elders should be encouraged to participate in activities which they feel belonging. For example, they can join clubs with others among their ages so they can share the same interests. Moreover, volunteering or charity may be considered because they may make old people feel that they are needed. Secondly, governments also need to increase the budget for caring old people so that there will be more caregivers to match the need. For instance, in some countries, governments also encourage immigrants to become nurses in order to solve this issue. To conclude, while living longer means that people have more time to enjoy their life, there are problems that need to be solved. Governments and societies should have plans to help elders from being lonely and suffering from illness.