New forms of money are becoming extremely popular nowadays. Is this a positive development or adding risk to the system? Should new money technology face greater regulation and scrutiny? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the past decade, there has been an ongoing debate about the impact of new forms of money such as cryptocurrencies. This essay will highlight the benefit of integrating them into the monetary system and the need to apply global regulation towards its existence. Firstly, a new form of money poses a benefit of giving better payment access worldwide. It allows people from every nation to be economically connected without limitations appearing on traditional currency. Additionally, the value of the currency is more stable since there are few to zero political and social issues affecting it. For instance, cryptocurrency holders in Iran can have an immediate transaction with sellers from Japan at a certain currency value despite Iran’s geopolitical situation. On the other hand, stricter laws to govern the usage of this new financial technology should be comprehensively implemented to ensure safety. The threats associated with its security are ubiquitous, and potentially lead to greater criminal issues affecting the global monetary system. Further detrimental impact might result in diminishing trust from people towards new technology, which could stop new inventions in the future. For example, if the usage of crypto technology is not well regulated which results in a case of fictitious transaction, people will lose hope and hinder them from using another type of new payment in the next generation. In conclusion, new money technology leads to borderless payment access that potentially brings more benefits to future generations. However, there must be stricter regulations for its safety and to maintain people’s trust in the money system.