It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that we should invest more in health prevention programs rather than curing sick people. While I believe that encouraging a healthy lifestyle is essential to improve community health, I partially agree with the notion because spending to cure ill patients is equally important to prolong people ’s lives. Clearly, promoting a healthy lifestyle is critical to improving public health and reducing the burden of healthcare costs. Many uncommunicable diseases such as high blood pressure, stroke, and diabetes have direct consequences of unhealthy habits. This could be reduced by the help of community funds to support government efforts in increasing public awareness through health education campaigns or health consultations. As a result of this program, more people become health -conscious, which can lead to a healthier community. On the other hand, budget allocation for curing ill people has equal importance in saving more people. Not all diseases can be prevented with lifestyle modifications. Take for example infectious diseases like COVID-19 which became a global pandemic in the past year. Numerous COVID-19 patients require immediate cures to lessen the sickness and save them from mortality so the public fund is much needed to help the pandemic response. It is not fair Thus, investing in the cure field also could enhance innovation in the healthcare system and save more lives in the future. In conclusion, although preventing disease by promoting a healthy habit is needed for the community, I think we should also allocate our money to saving the lives of ill people.