Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some residents believe that governments need to allocate more fund to build railways compare to main roads. As a part of society who use both public facilities, I disagree with this statement. In my opinion, these two facilities are important. Roads and railways are two vital facilities that becoming governments' obligation to be provided in every country. People need a proper road to access their office, school and other places from their home. Better roads lead to better productivity and time efficiency. Imagine the condition of the roads in the rural area of Africa as an example, people struggle a lot to reach their school from home. It can take 1 to 2 hours to pass 5 kilometres because of the broken roads while it does not happen in South Korea where the road and public facilities are built in a better way. On the other hand, the railway is also important but it depends on where it is constructed. Not all places are suitable for railways development. For places such as Melbourne, London, Sydney and other busy big cities, the railway is the best solution to decrease traffic congestion in the main road. But, in the quieter places where people used to move by walk or cycle and there is no rush movement of human and vehicles, there is no urgent need to allocate money on railways. Finally, even though spending money on railways is important, governments also need to consider about improving roads because it is also necessary. Also, money which is allocated on the railway in the place where it is unnecessary should have to be considered on other priority sectors.