More and more people want to own items, such as cars, clothing and other things, that are made by famous brands. What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent years more and more people want to own items, such as cars, clothing and other things, that are made by famous brands. There are several reasons. Firstly, nowadays globalization has allowed big companies to expand and be active all over the world. Famous brands are normally quoted in every national market and their stores are in the most visited cities around our planet. As a result, more and more people are able to recognize these brands and get used to their products. To cite an example, IKEA, a famous brand that sells mostly furniture, own more than 22000 stores and they are operating in every country. So it's easy to notice how most houses and offices around the world share the same pieces of furniture manufactured by IKEA. Furthermore, new techniques of marketing have emerged and testes such as social media, where is possible to create customized commercials that reach people that could be interested in those products. In particular, one of the most used is influencer commercial, very famous people that associate with brands, these kinds of advertising is very effective for young people and could lead to better results. Recent studies show that commercially made with influencers is 80% more effective in revenue compared to a standard ad. These situations could lead to negative aspects, as companies could try to speculate on their brands with different methods. The most used one is scarcity, companies sell a limited amount of their product, thus creating a huge demand and consequently higher prices. Also, by doing so they create a parallel market of resellers that helps to bring up the prestigious of their brands. To sum up, I strongly believe that this could have a negative impact on our culture, as we could end up losing our diversity and our inner traditions that are related to each population.