Space travel to the moon is considered ‘a step of mankind’. But some people think that space travel has made little difference on people’s lives today. To what extent do you agree or disagree ? (approximately 250 words)

It is sometimes argued that space exploration does not bring real benefits to human life even though it implies a great advance in the history of humanity. While I agree that many successes of this exploration have not yet contributed to the daily life of the population, I believe that the results obtained from it have implied certain importance in human life. On the one hand, there are many reasons against space voyage. Firstly, the cost of exploring space is one of the biggest criticisms of efforts to launch a program that takes humans beyond the planet. Technology advancements in recent years could make this issue cheaper for the next generation, but many people wonder if it is necessary to spend billions of dollars on space exploration while millions of people in the world face starvation every day. Secondly, many people consider that now is not a proper time to start exploring the universe. There is an opinion that maybe the governments and big enterprises should focus on addressing some immediate concerns of society such as crime, pollution, and poverty. Although all the natural resources are running out, mining asteroids for their raw materials and mineral content could be postponed in the future. On the other hand, I believe that there are several benefits of space exploration despite these above arguments. The first one could be the launching of satellites to observe weather conditions on Earth. This increases the amount of data available to meteorologists with the most accurate weather forecasts possible in areas not covered by traditional devices and allows them to give advanced warnings of severe weather conditions such as hurricanes and snowmelt, thus saving lives. The second is the possibility of conducting biomedical research. Studies of human life in space have improved understanding of the effects of adapting to a space environment, such as alterations in body fluids and the immune system. In addition, discoveries related to the human body and space, particularly the effects on bone development, may provide a greater understanding of biomineralization and the process of gene transcription. In conclusion, space travel could not help directly to solve social issues such as poverty, starvation, and pollution, but I believe that it would be a new door for humanity to reach new knowledge and technologies to improve human life.