Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

The infrastructure of a nation should always be a topic matter. Therefore, there are a lot of discussions where governments should invest our taxes. Whereas some may argue that roads should receive the main attention of our politicians I tend to have dissenting views with those. In the following essay, I will explain why I disagree with their statement and why do I believe that railways should have the focus. First and foremost, it has been proved that in the long run, railways are more economical than roads. That is because the cost to build it at first is high but after that, the maintenance is very low. A recent data released stated that countries which invested in railroads on the 1950s, have a better and cheaper logistics system flow than those who only invested on roads. Despite that, trains are a way of transportation that causes less air and noise pollution, besides being a relief to traffic in big cities. A recent study showed that, big cities like New York, Toronto, and London, which have efficient train system running releases fewer greenhouses gases to the atmosphere than others cities like San Paulo in Brazil, that do not have railways. They also stated that the traffic was easier in those cities. On the other hand, there is no question about how easy we can get to anywhere with cars, and how important it is to have those as our main way of commute and transport. However, they have been the top priority for decades. That is why is important, to focus on other ways of transportation to increase the country's growth. To conclude, there are both positives and negative aspects about roads and railways. Nevertheless, railways have been placed in the second position for too long now, therefore is necessary for it has our government's main attention now.