Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is becoming more and more usual for high school students to consider spending some period travelling or working before they join University. In my opinion, this is a great idea for those who do not know what they want to study or what they would like to be when they grow up. For some adults, the idea of delaying the start of your degree can be a waste of your time, but is it really? The vast majority of the pupils will enrol in university once they finish college. Research studies showed that more than 50% of them join this institution as they feel this is what should be done. Basically, social pressure has a big effect on the youth when they make their decision. In my opinion, having a gap year, not only doesn't mean that you are wasting time, but this can be one of the best decisions you have made in your life. Travelling around the world would expose you to different experiences and cultures. Similarly, during a work experience, you will meet people from different backgrounds and will need to learn other social situations. All these new experiences will help you to grow up and develop new ideas and goals. To sum up, I understand that some student may have their life objectives clear so they do not need a plan to consider what they would like to dedicate their lives to. However, in my view, an 18-year-old should consider thinking outside the box and exploring other alternatives before enrolling in Uni. At the end of the day, these little adventures would help them to come up with a plan for their future.