People think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are thoughts that replacing old-time constructions with newly-built ones are needed. From my perspective, I agree with the statement because this activity brings more benefits to our human societies. Although many people love the ancient look of buildings, it is irrefutable that keeping those old ones is not a safe option. Normally, a 50 years-old building was built by low technique and unqualify materials so that they can slump down anytime. This could cause huge damages for the residents inside and in the areas. As a result, knocking those building down is a wise decision to prevent unwanted accidents. For example, Hoian city is famous for its old town in Vietnam. However, recently, the government has decided to rebuild this area by new buildings which have the same appearances. Whether we want to admit it or not, modern buildings give us so many utilities. To be specific, ancient ones do not have air-conditioners or elevators, and almost nobody wants to climb five levels in hot summer days. Therefore, we all prefer to stay in the new buildings where we feel more comfortable. Besides, newly-built constructions offer us a wide range of new functionality such as a cool environment in shopping centres, a professional working space in city offices, or a highly-adapted technology lab in science research centres. The more we build those new buildings, the more places we can have to serve different functions, and it seriously supports human life. In conclusion, even though keeping old buildings brings us nostalgic feelings, replacing them with newly-built constructions is also a wise decision in certain cases. It is because we need to maintain the safety for us as well as giving more spaces for future developing.