New stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

In our contemporary world, we witness that the majority of new stories in media and newspapers are presented with pictures, and some individuals opine that this method of representation can be more influential. I agree with this viewpoint for two reasons, which I am going to describe comprehensively in the following paragraphs. To begin with, illustrative information remains longer in the viewers’ minds compared to data that is merely represented in written form. This matter was proved by scientists who worked with a group of people in Brazil. To cite an example, during that aforementioned study, it was found that news which was presented with a picture remained fifteen days longer than those just offered with sentences because those stories gathered the participants’ attention much more than non-illustrative ones. Moreover, as it has been shown in a study conducted by Italian researchers in 2012, images are much more attractive than boring, white and black-coloured words offered either in TV shows or newspapers. Besides, understanding the meaning of an image is easier than reckoning the meaning of a sentence for both babies under school age and illiterate people. For example, children’s television shows are full of colourful pictures inasmuch as they are more attractive to children, and even those who cannot read a word can understand their meanings thoroughly. To sum up, regarding the priority of subjects accompanied by images compared to those that are represented without any figure either on television shows or in newspapers concerning their level of influence, I agree with the notion that those accompanied by figures are more influential for the reasons I have mentioned above.