Advertising is discouraging people from being different individuals and makes them want to be and to look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, with the age of information efficiency, people are unprecedentedly bombarded with a proliferation of advertisement. Some people argue that this marketing tool is undermining their identity and drags them towards appearing the same. While I agree with the former, I would have to add more perspectives to the latter before I can totally agree with it since desires for physical appearance are influenced by an array of factors. It stands to reason why some contend that advertising may blur the line between individuals, especially their purchasing behaviour. Firstly, the market is inarguably swayed by acclaimed producers due to their superiority to small and medium-sized ones in terms of credibility and financial security. As a result, these prominent forces are capable of launching massive and intensive promotion campaigns to feature their products to the public and marginalize others of their inferior and novel competitors. This is a testament to the similarity of purchasing decisions made by the public. Secondly, regarding the strong financial backing of major manufacturers, it is more liable for them to proceed mass production, which would in turn give them the price advantage. Therefore, they are successful in diverting a ttention of the public to their promoted items from those of less prominent rivals and hence, a good number of consumers are more inclined to buy theirs. It is partly true that advertising has exerted certain influences on how people perceive physical appearance. Celebrity endorsement, for example, may be used to induce buyers to take preference of the advertised items in the hope of looking the same with their idols. Having said that, advertising does not necessarily lead to an assimilation in the outlook because one must carefully weigh up their desires and financial capabilities before reaching a purchasing decision. For example, if one has to struggle for food on the table, he or she cannot afford to bear resemblance to unrealistic images of supermodels or leading/prominent figures. Therefore, although advertising may translate into a change in their perceptions towards ideal beauty standards, their finance may impede them from having the same pursuits. In conclusion, although advertising may erode the diversity of customers’ purchasing behavior, it does not solely determine their decisions on physical appearance. A more realistic view should be adopted when discussing this topic since personal needs are not always in accordance with affordability.