In some countries it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at four years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Formal education is a fundamental right of every child on this planet and most people ensure that their child gets it. However, the opinion on whether formal education should begin early or later in life is divided. While some believe schooling should start at four, others argue it is not a necessity until seven or eight. I believe the former to be true. On one hand, early tutoring allows the kid’s parents more time to focus on their work and as a result, potentially bring in more income. This is beneficial for children considering the fact that most parents spend a considerable amount of their earnings on their child’s future. Also, going to school early in life enables children to learn social interaction much better than if they had stayed at home. A child is much more of an avid learner when young which gives them the ability to grasp a variety of subjects blazingly quick. On the contrary, starting education at a more mature age has fewer benefits. A late start informal learning means more time can be devoted to acquiring cultural and religious values which are deemed obligatory in many parts of the world. It also benefits guardians who want to remain more watchful of their young ones; keeping them home for a longer period is comforting for parents as it allows more supervision time. Unfortunately, kids starting their education late are known to be over-reliant on their adults. This in turns means that they will go through a much more challenging phase in life when required to deal with matters on their own. To conclude, while starting to learn at seven or eight can have a positive impact of making children realize the value of keeping parents close, the lack of socializing skills that come with it downplay the option of considering it. In my opinion, education should start as early as possible because in today’s world, the attributes that matter are decision making and being self-dependent.