Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

The government has tremendous responsibility towards spending money on maintaining and developing their regions. It is frequently argued that allocating a budget for arts is not required and it should be used on other programs. I disagree with the statement as the culture of a nation is preserved in the forms of art and promoting art results in tourism which benefits the government and local businesses. Firstly, the art of any nation marvellously captures the essence of ancestral craftsmanship. Preserved artforms become a heritage for the current generation. For instance, in India, villages in the remote state of Gujarat are famous for mandala paintings. This style of painting has received praises from the globe. Mandala a patterned painting has been dated back from the 10th century BC and has been passed through generations. The government of Gujarat has taken all efforts for preserving the craft like providing government jobs or subsidiaries on food as well as aid during droughts in summers. Secondly, tourists are attracted to places that are vibrant and mesmerizing for them. There are small businesses like artists, museums, hotels, vehicles, rentals, etc that thrive on such tourists. In a travelling survey, by travel guide magazine, 78% of travellers preferred visiting a nation or place that was well maintained for art and visited local museums to see the history of that place. In my experience, an art festival hosted by the Maharastra government allured me to see the craftsmanship of a statue of Chatrapati Shivaji Maharaj in the Kolhapur district with a bare amount of 100 Rs. as the entry fee. It was 20 feet tall and the carving was so perfect as it seems like the statue was alive. With 1,00,000 visitors from all over the place. This money is used to support local businesses and they constantly repair the wear and tear of the statue preventing it from any deformity. To summarize, art is one of the most prized possessions of a nation and the government spends capital to maintain them. Well preserved or encouraging activities in the field of art yields good returns. The government must spend money on art.