Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extend do you agree?

In the modern era, it is common to believe that expenditures on transport infrastructures are far more crucial than funding the public transport facilities. This writer, however, disagrees with this statement because a development in transport infrastructures can contribute to environmental problems and a change in public amenities will have a positive impact on the environment. To begin with, it is vital to consider the environmental problems caused by upgrading roads. Since there was an improvement in roads, citizens will witness a much better travelling experience, and the worries about the bumpy roads no longer exist. Because of that, there will be an increase in the use of private transport and the high rate of traffic on the road will raise the level of exhaust fumes in the air which lead to numerous environmental issues. For instance, the process of burning fuels inside the car's engine creates carbon dioxide, a type of air that negatively affects the ozone layer, threatening to expose humanity to UV sunlight. On the contrary side, an alternation to public transport systems can be beneficial to the environment. It must be acknowledged that enhancing the public transport quality allows authorities to attract their population to use them. This also translated that the amount of private vehicles on the street will drop significantly, leading to a lower level of greenhouse gases in the air. As a result, the status of the whole nature will recovered considerably. For example, Vietnamese governments have started to introduce eco-friendly buses which facilities have improved a lot, hoping to tackle the current air pollution situation. In conclusion, spending money on transport infrastructure can bring drawbacks to the environment whereas expending the public transport systems reduces issues relating to the environment. Hence, this essay has given clear points to demonstrate the author's disagreement with the belief of focusing on roads and motorways.